Micrometer Powder Bar Kit
Micrometer Powder Bar Kit
Click to enlarge image(s)
The UniqueTek Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ upgrades your existing powder bar to a micrometer powder bar. No more guessing how many turns of the adjustment screw will get you back to that perfect powder weight.

Features
Precision 40tpi Micrometer Head
Durable All Steel Construction.
Fits All Powder Bar Sizes
Also fits SL 900 Powder Bar and Shot Bars! *
* Minor modification required.

Much more than just a dial or knob … the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ replaces the original 1/4-28 adjustment bolt with a true precision micrometer with 40 threads per inch. You will be able to return instantly to any powder weight setting with a speed and an accuracy never before possible. Of course, you still must weigh and confirm all powder weight setting changes.

— Kit includes: Micrometer head, LocTite® and installation instructions.†
† Powder bar not included.

FREE Calibration Curve Spread Sheet
To download a copy of the Calibration Curve spread sheet in the Microsoft Excel .xltx format, just Click Here. If you need a copy for an old version of Excel (.xlt format), please send me an email and I'll be happy to send it to you.
Calibration Curve
(Click on chart to view larger)
We provide a FREE Excel spread sheet you can use to generate "calibration curves" for each of your gunpowders. With a "calibration curve," you can predict the micrometer setting to give you any desired charge weight for that gunpowder.*

* You still must weigh and confirm all powder weight setting changes even when using a calibration curve that you have generated yourself.

Installation Option 1:
The Micrometer Powder Bar Kit&trade isn't that difficult to install yourself. But we do offer installation. Send us your powder bar and we'll install the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ for a $30.00 service fee. We install in any size powder bar for the same price. Just select one of the two Installation Options from the drop-down menu when ordering,
– Installation for 550/1050 Press - (T1231-IK550/1050)
– Installation for 650/SDB Press - (T1231-IK550/1050)
Cost = $109.95 ^
^ $79.95 for Micrometer Kit + $30.00 for Installation

Then ship us the following:
1) A copy of your order.
2) The powder bar in which you want the micrometer installed.

Ship the above items to:
UniqueTek, Inc.
540 W. Iron Ave., Suite 118
Mesa, AZ 85210


Installation Option 2:
The Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ is available preinstalled in a new powder bar. Just select the one you need from the drop-down menu when ordering.

– Preinstalled in Small Powder Bar for 550/1050 Press - (T1231-5S)
– Preinstalled in Large Powder Bar for 550/1050 Press - (T1231-5L)
– Preinstalled in Small Powder Bar for 650/SDB Press - (T1231-6S)
– Preinstalled in Large Powder Bar for 650/SDB Press - (T1231-6L)
Cost = $129.95 ^
^ Same price for all 4 options.


Q&A
Q: Will it fit in the plastic Powder Drop Slide made by Arredondo Accessories?
A: Yes. But the installation is tricky and must be done by us. We carry the Arredondo Powder Drop Slide with our Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ pre-installed. Click here for details.


Read reviews of the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ in the following magazines!
IHMSA News; Volume 19, Issue 5, June 2008, Page 8. Click Here to Read
Precision Shooting; May 2006, Page 28.
Handloader; August-September 2005, Page 105. Click Here to Read
Front Sight; July/August 2005, Page 15. Click Here to Read


Read Recent Customer Reviews at the Bottom of this Page.

Read More Customer Reviews (2005 through 2015): CLICK HERE.

Precision Powder Baffle™
Don't forget to check our our Precision Powder Baffle™. It greatly minimizes variations in powder drop weight versus powder hopper fill level and makes a great companion to the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™.

Micrometer Powder Bar Kit and Precision Powder Baffle are a trademarks of UniqueTek, Inc.
LocTite is a registered trademark of the Henkel Corporation.
Disclaimer: Dillon Precision does not authorize the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ for use on any of its reloading presses and its use may void manufacturer or dealer warranties.
Specifications
Thimble Size 0.5 inch diameter
Thread Pitch 40 thread per inch
(replaces the 28 thread per inch bolt)
Precision .001" per division
(≈ .02 grains Win 231 in Small Bar)
Range 0.000" to 0.750" linear travel
(allows full range of adjustment with all powder bar sizes)

Customer Reviews

Average rating from 9 reviews: 5.0
An OUTSTANDING investment!This upgrade is "Head and Shoulders" above the factory powder bar adjustment hardware assembly! Powder drops will be in the ± .05 grains range. When the Uniquetek powder baffle is installed, and Tips File #1 (especially the powder funnel polishing step) are followed you can expect powder drop accuracy to increase to ± .005 grains! The product is well made and worth every penny. Written by Tom Blankenship on Sun 18 Nov 2018 6:12:36 PM GMT
Great Addition To The 550Like other items, I bought one, in order to try it out. Now have on all my 550s. Not difficult to install. Written by Carl C Ibsen on Mon 12 Nov 2018 11:04:47 PM GMT
From close to as close to exact as my scale can measure +/- .005 grainsI load tac for 5.56 carbine, and am working up loads for a 223 wylde "long range" build.
I installed the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit along with the Precision Powder Baffle this morning, During the process of entering data for the Calibration Curve Spread Sheet I was completely impressed by the consistency of the throws. I set the micrometer at selected settings dropping and recording three consecutive throws for each setting all of which were +/- .05 grains of each other at each setting. I then went back to the beginning and dropped an additional 2 at the reset with the same results. I actually had 5 drops reading 20.1gn every throw. This completely corrected the lesser consistency I was experiencing prior to installation. Thoroughly impressed and will be looking at other UniqueTek upgrades in the future
Written by Earl Biggs on Fri 15 Jun 2018 4:03:48 PM GMT
Cuts Down Set-up Time When Switching Loads.I just ordered and received your Micrometer Powder Bar Kit for my Dillon SDB. Just wanted to let you know I appreciate the thorough and complete instructions, install went smooth using the 7mm tap to clear the teflon. Also, appreciate the Calibration Curve spread sheet, it works perfectly to the tenth. I am very pleased with the product as I load 3 different loads with my machine and this will cut down set-up time immensely. Written by Steve M on Wed 4 Apr 2018 8:30:04 PM GMT
MAKE YOUR LIFE SIMPLE!!!I have the micrometer powder measuring tool installed on both my pistol and rifle bars. It takes ALL of the guess work out of measuring powder. Once I have established a load, I save the reading on the micrometer on my phone in notes with the powder type along with what caliber I'm loading. Just set the dial back to that setting andI am usually within 1/10 of a grain.
It just makes life simple.
NOTE: ALWAYS MEASURE YOUR POWDER CHARGE BEFORE YOU STAERT LOADING.
Written by Rick Perini on Wed 15 Nov 2017 8:10:28 PM GMT
Dillon Powder Thrower Good. Uniquetek Micrometer GREAT!Lee—
I have to say, the consistency of the powder throws with micrometer / 40 tpi screw and powder baffle is remarkable. EVERYTHING— that is, ALL of the calibration check loads ( 5x the 5 settings for 5 full rotations of micrometer dial,) from smallest possible charge up to 7.1gr of AA#5— was within .05gr. Returning to any given charge setting resulted in the exact same amount of powder being dropped within one test charge. Charge weights were nearly 100% linear from 3.3 to 7.1. I’m very pleased with this setup. Big thanks.
Written by Christopher Drozd on Wed 12 Jul 2017 5:58:56 AM GMT
A Must if you load multiple calibers or Bullet weightI have the micrometer on my 3 Dillon powder measurers and it is a time saver moving between different powder recipes. I'm using Hogdon CFE Pistol which is very fine powder and I use the numbers on the micrometer to go back and forth between load distribution. I still re-weigh but its spot on each and every time ( you have to use the same powder). My only regret is I paid shipping 3x when I should have gotten them all at once. If your smart enough to reloading you can get just the kit and put it together yourself. Written by Tom P on Tue 4 Jul 2017 4:30:47 PM GMT
Awesome Device!I purchased two of these for install myself. I put one on a large bar and one on a small bar. I have four quick change assemblies and figured that I could swap the powder bars in between them. I was wrong. These Micrometers are incredible. In the short time I have been using them, I have found them to be indispensable. With the spreadsheet and the micrometer, I can switch between charges in a snap. They are so handy, that I am not willing to switch out the powder bars between my toolheads....I'll just buy two more! Thanks for the quality product!!! Written by Andy Blila on Thu 12 Jan 2017 9:48:27 PM GMT
Excellent addition to my XL650 10 years agoI've had my Micrometer Powder Bar on my XL650 since early 2007, which was right after purchasing the press. I shoot .45 LC at SASS matches with 250 gr rounds in my Marlin and 200 gr rounds in my Rugers. This requires two different powder weights. The Micrometer Powder Bar was a blessing. I can switch between the two loads in just a few minutes. After 10 years and well over 200 setting changes it's still dead on. No issues at all with anything breaking or coming loose. Money well spent. Written by Buckshot Barry, SASS 45084 on Thu 12 Jan 2017 2:06:10 AM GMT
Submit a Review...