Micrometer Powder Bar Kit
Micrometer Powder Bar Kit
Micrometer InstalledMicrometer KitMicrometer in Small Powder BarMicrometer in Large Powder Bar
Click to enlarge image(s)
The UniqueTek Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ upgrades your existing powder bar to a micrometer powder bar. No more guessing how many turns of the adjustment screw will get you back to that perfect powder weight.

Features
Precision 40tpi Micrometer Head
Durable All Steel Construction.
Fits All Powder Bar Sizes
Also fits SL 900 Powder Bar and Shot Bars! *
* Minor modification required.

Much more than just a dial or knob … the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ replaces the original 1/4-28 adjustment bolt with a true precision micrometer with 40 threads per inch. You will be able to return instantly to any powder weight setting with a speed and an accuracy never before possible. Of course, you still must weigh and confirm all powder weight setting changes.

— Kit includes: Micrometer head, Loctite® and installation instructions.†
† Powder bar not included in kit.
FREE Calibration Curve Spread Sheet
Calibration Curve
(Click on chart to view larger)
We provide a FREE Excel spread sheet you can use to generate "calibration curves" for each of your gunpowders. With a "calibration curve," you can predict the micrometer setting to give you any desired charge weight for that gunpowder.*
* You still must weigh and confirm all powder weight setting changes even when using a calibration curve that you have generated yourself.
.xltx format
Calibration Curve
Spreadsheet
.xltx format
.xltx format
Calibration Curve
Spreadsheet
.xlt format
To download a copy of the Calibration Curve
spread sheet for Microsoft Excel, click on the
icons at left. Version for both the current .xltx
and older .xltx formats are available.
Q: Will this spreadsheet work with rotary drum powder measures (e.g. Redding, RCBS, Hornady, Harrell's, Lee) that have
Q: micrometer adjusters?
A: Absolutely! But, as always, you'll need to generate a new curve using your powder measure and gunpowder of choice.

Calculator Try out new Micrometer Setting Calculator Web App.
It is Free to use.

Note: If you "Add to Home Screen" on your Android or iOS device, you can access it with a single tap!


Installation Option 1:
The Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ isn't that difficult to install yourself. But we do offer installation. Send us your powder bar and we'll install the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ for a $30.00 service fee. We install in any size powder bar for the same price. Just select one of the two Installation Options from the drop-down menu when ordering,
– Installation for 550/1050/1100 Press - (T1231-IK550/1050)
– Installation for 650/750/SDB Press - (T1231-IK650/SDB)
Cost = $109.95 ^
^ $79.95 for Micrometer Kit + $30.00 for Installation

Then ship us the following:
1) A copy of your order.
2) The powder bar in which you want the micrometer installed.

Ship the above items to:
UniqueTek, Inc.
540 W. Iron Ave., Suite 118
Mesa, AZ 85210


Installation Option 2:
The Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ is available preinstalled in a new powder bar. Just select the one you need from the drop-down menu when ordering.

– Preinstalled in Small Powder Bar for 550/1050/1100 Press - (T1231-5S)
– Preinstalled in Large Powder Bar for 550/1050/1100 Press - (T1231-5L)
– Preinstalled in Small Powder Bar for 650/750/SDB Press - (T1231-6S)
– Preinstalled in Large Powder Bar for 650/750/SDB Press - (T1231-6L)
Cost = $129.95 ^
^ Same price for all 4 options.


Q&A
Q: Will it fit in the plastic Powder Drop Slide made by Arredondo Accessories?
A: Yes. But the installation is tricky and must be done by us. We carry the Arredondo Powder Drop Slide with our Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ pre-installed. Click here for details.


Read reviews of the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ in the following magazines!
IHMSA News; Volume 19, Issue 5, June 2008, Page 8. Click Here to Read
Precision Shooting; May 2006, Page 28.
Handloader; August-September 2005, Page 105. Click Here to Read
Front Sight; July/August 2005, Page 15. Click Here to Read


Read Recent Customer Reviews at the Bottom of this Page.

Read More Customer Reviews (2005 through 2015): CLICK HERE.

Precision Powder Baffle™
Don't forget to check our our Precision Powder Baffle™. It greatly minimizes variations in powder drop weight versus powder hopper fill level and makes a great companion to the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™.
Micrometer Powder Bar Kit and Precision Powder Baffle are a trademarks of UniqueTek, Inc.
Loctite is a registered trademark of the Henkel Corporation.
Disclaimer: Dillon Precision does not authorize the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit™ for use on any of its reloading presses and its use may void manufacturer or dealer warranties.
installation instructions
Installation
Instructions

Specifications
Thimble Size 0.5 inch diameter
Thread Pitch 40 thread per inch
(replaces the 28 thread per inch bolt)
Precision .001" per division
(≈ .02 grains Win 231 in Small Bar)
Range 0.000" to 0.750" linear travel
(allows full range of adjustment with all powder bar sizes)

Customer Reviews

Average rating from 18 reviews: 5.0
Instructions are great, BUTI have installed four of these units on Extra Small through Magnum bars. They are a great improvement without question. The one problem I had was the quick setting thread locker. I think a slower setting version would be an improvement. I have had two of the four set up before I had everything just like it should be. Perhaps I am getting slow in old age (83) but I suspect others have had the same problem. Written by James T Collins on Fri 16 Oct 2020 5:34:51 PM GMT
Best money I've spent on reloadingI've been running an XL650 that I bought used about 15 years ago. I've had to replace some parts along the way but it's still running fine. It has a few Dillon accessories like a bullet tray and roller handle, case feeder, etc. However, I recently started noticing the upgrades that are available. I bought cam rollers, thrust bearings, and more. Everyone of them improved the operation of the press. Some of those improvements were marginal, others were dramatic. So far the best of them has been the powder bar micrometer. It makes dialing in a specific load a snap. If you need to run off incremental powder charges, that's something I always did manually. A series of powder adjustments on the Dillon was just too tedious. No more. You still have to validate the powder drop changes with a scale, but charges are accurate and easy to fine tune. Great product. I just wish I found it sooner. Written by Shorel on Sat 4 Jul 2020 4:40:59 PM GMT
By far the best upgrade I've made to my 650This thing is a must have. I know most people love their Dillons, but I pretty much hate mine. In stock form, they really aren't operable - the hokey primer catches that leave both used and unused all over your floor, the snapping shell plate that sends powder flying, the inability to stop the primers or shells when you need to correct a problem, excessive friction in multiple areas...there's a cottage industry of "upgrades" out there because honestly the machines really don't work without companies like Uniquetek making products that correct major engineering flaws. But nothing is worse than the stock powder measure, especially when you're trying to work up loads and making lots of changes. It's imprecise, wildly inconsistent, and the process is infuriating. Until you install this. I'm floored - i just worked up the excel sheets for four different powders, a very easy process. I validated the slope for each powder, using it to predict a couple values for each, and was simply amazed when it consistently threw the number given, right out of the gate. Charge weights still wander a bit as the measure itself just isn't that precise, but even that seems improved, although I'm not sure how. But the real difference is, you're now pegged to the actual average instead of chasing it all over the place every time the measure throws a wild charge. I trust this thing so implicitly now that if I follow the recommended charge and the first throw is a little off, I'll throw a few more and check the average, as i suspect it's the measure acting up, not the math which is spot on. Simply the best upgrade I've made to this machine (and I've made them all). Thank you!! Written by BHogan on Sat 2 May 2020 6:15:32 AM GMT
Consistency and Repeatability Unlike I’ve Previously Experienced.Installed powder bar w/micrometer, your baffle, threw a bunch of samples for data to populate the spreadsheet, and it’s a whole new world over here. Loaded 2K .45 ACP with Vita N340, verifying powder charges every 100 rounds (just because), and all is well. Consistency and repeatability unlike I’ve previously experienced. Written by Richard W on Wed 8 Apr 2020 5:27:50 PM GMT
A Must Have!I purchased 2 of these, the first was pre-installed on the bar and the second was just the micrometer which I easily installed on my own small powder bar for my XL750. It is a fantastic way to make repeatable throws of powder once I figure out the values. Then, if I want to change the powder charge, I just turn to the value I need on the micrometer and I don't even have to bother checking it--it's the exact amount of powder I need. When I change from target loads to self-defense loads or competition loads, I just dial in the charge I want. If you have a loading regimen that requires you to change charge weights, then get this micrometer. If you have even a little mechanical ability, you can install it into the bar yourself, if not, just buy it pre-installed. Written by Sonny Ftr on Mon 2 Mar 2020 11:36:55 PM GMT
Powder bar MicrometerThis is a must have for your Dillon Machine!
I am constantly changing from loading 9mm Major to 9mm Minor.
Effortless to get spot on with this device.
In addition i load multiple calibers and find myself using the 1 powder thrower with the micrometer on it instead of using my other throwers. It is so much easier to adjust.
Highly recommend picking one of these up!
Written by Adam Johnston on Tue 16 Jul 2019 3:30:46 PM GMT
This Thing is Dead On.This powder bar is awesome! I followed all instructions and this thing is dead on. Thanks for making such great products. I should have done this along time ago. Written by Gerard M. on Mon 24 Jun 2019 9:00:26 PM GMT
Holy cow batman! This device is awesome!I have a Dillon 550B which I installed the Powder Micrometer on. After installing it, I decided to use the calibration spreadsheet. I spent 10 minutes dispensing W231 powder at different settings and entering the data into the spreadsheet. And then I was ready to try it. I wanted 5.9 gr W231, entered that into my spreadsheet, found out that I needed to set the micrometer to .92. I did that and I dispensed 3 charges to verify that it was correct -- it was exactly 5.9 gr! This thing is amazing! Prior to this amazing widget, it would take me 15 minutes trying to turn that stupid little bolt on the Dillon powder dispenser to get the powder charge I want. Now it takes me 30 seconds -- 25 seconds to find a flashlight and 5 seconds to set the micrometer!

I highly recommend this!
Written by Greg B on Thu 11 Apr 2019 11:41:05 PM GMT
Saves a lot of time adjusting!It's a great product, I like it a lot as I reload 3 different cartridges with the same powder. Saves a lot of time adjusting. Written by Steve Malinoski on Mon 1 Apr 2019 4:55:57 PM GMT
An OUTSTANDING investment!This upgrade is "Head and Shoulders" above the factory powder bar adjustment hardware assembly! Powder drops will be in the ± .05 grains range. When the Uniquetek powder baffle is installed, and Tips File #1 (especially the powder funnel polishing step) are followed you can expect powder drop accuracy to increase to ± .005 grains! The product is well made and worth every penny. Written by Tom Blankenship on Sun 18 Nov 2018 6:12:36 PM GMT
Great Addition To The 550Like other items, I bought one, in order to try it out. Now have on all my 550s. Not difficult to install. Written by Carl C Ibsen on Mon 12 Nov 2018 11:04:47 PM GMT
From close to as close to exact as my scale can measure +/- .005 grainsI load tac for 5.56 carbine, and am working up loads for a 223 wylde "long range" build.
I installed the Micrometer Powder Bar Kit along with the Precision Powder Baffle this morning, During the process of entering data for the Calibration Curve Spread Sheet I was completely impressed by the consistency of the throws. I set the micrometer at selected settings dropping and recording three consecutive throws for each setting all of which were +/- .05 grains of each other at each setting. I then went back to the beginning and dropped an additional 2 at the reset with the same results. I actually had 5 drops reading 20.1gn every throw. This completely corrected the lesser consistency I was experiencing prior to installation. Thoroughly impressed and will be looking at other UniqueTek upgrades in the future
Written by Earl Biggs on Fri 15 Jun 2018 4:03:48 PM GMT
Cuts Down Set-up Time When Switching Loads.I just ordered and received your Micrometer Powder Bar Kit for my Dillon SDB. Just wanted to let you know I appreciate the thorough and complete instructions, install went smooth using the 7mm tap to clear the teflon. Also, appreciate the Calibration Curve spread sheet, it works perfectly to the tenth. I am very pleased with the product as I load 3 different loads with my machine and this will cut down set-up time immensely. Written by Steve M on Wed 4 Apr 2018 8:30:04 PM GMT
MAKE YOUR LIFE SIMPLE!!!I have the micrometer powder measuring tool installed on both my pistol and rifle bars. It takes ALL of the guess work out of measuring powder. Once I have established a load, I save the reading on the micrometer on my phone in notes with the powder type along with what caliber I'm loading. Just set the dial back to that setting andI am usually within 1/10 of a grain.
It just makes life simple.
NOTE: ALWAYS MEASURE YOUR POWDER CHARGE BEFORE YOU STAERT LOADING.
Written by Rick Perini on Wed 15 Nov 2017 8:10:28 PM GMT
Dillon Powder Thrower Good. Uniquetek Micrometer GREAT!Lee—
I have to say, the consistency of the powder throws with micrometer / 40 tpi screw and powder baffle is remarkable. EVERYTHING— that is, ALL of the calibration check loads ( 5x the 5 settings for 5 full rotations of micrometer dial,) from smallest possible charge up to 7.1gr of AA#5— was within .05gr. Returning to any given charge setting resulted in the exact same amount of powder being dropped within one test charge. Charge weights were nearly 100% linear from 3.3 to 7.1. I’m very pleased with this setup. Big thanks.
Written by Christopher Drozd on Wed 12 Jul 2017 5:58:56 AM GMT
A Must if you load multiple calibers or Bullet weightI have the micrometer on my 3 Dillon powder measurers and it is a time saver moving between different powder recipes. I'm using Hogdon CFE Pistol which is very fine powder and I use the numbers on the micrometer to go back and forth between load distribution. I still re-weigh but its spot on each and every time ( you have to use the same powder). My only regret is I paid shipping 3x when I should have gotten them all at once. If your smart enough to reloading you can get just the kit and put it together yourself. Written by Tom P on Tue 4 Jul 2017 4:30:47 PM GMT
Awesome Device!I purchased two of these for install myself. I put one on a large bar and one on a small bar. I have four quick change assemblies and figured that I could swap the powder bars in between them. I was wrong. These Micrometers are incredible. In the short time I have been using them, I have found them to be indispensable. With the spreadsheet and the micrometer, I can switch between charges in a snap. They are so handy, that I am not willing to switch out the powder bars between my toolheads....I'll just buy two more! Thanks for the quality product!!! Written by Andy Blila on Thu 12 Jan 2017 9:48:27 PM GMT
Excellent addition to my XL650 10 years agoI've had my Micrometer Powder Bar on my XL650 since early 2007, which was right after purchasing the press. I shoot .45 LC at SASS matches with 250 gr rounds in my Marlin and 200 gr rounds in my Rugers. This requires two different powder weights. The Micrometer Powder Bar was a blessing. I can switch between the two loads in just a few minutes. After 10 years and well over 200 setting changes it's still dead on. No issues at all with anything breaking or coming loose. Money well spent. Written by Buckshot Barry, SASS 45084 on Thu 12 Jan 2017 2:06:10 AM GMT
Submit a Review...